‘The Martian’ in Global Cinemas.

Global-Cinemas_Logo_Final-01

So I recently watched “The Martian” in 3D in Global Cinemas (Weija) and it was spectacularly awesome. I will give my very short review in a bit, but first let me pat Global Cinemas on the back.

They are doing a very good job and this boy is impressed.

They’ve taken the best ingredients of the killer cinema experience, mixed it up and well…brewed up the “killer cinema experience”.
They’ve got the location, the price (that hits the sweet spot right on the jaw), the great service, the sound, the 3D…and did I mention the sound?

Gosh I love the sounds in the cinema.

So, Global Cinemas. Chances are you haven’t heard much about them and if you have, good on you because, aside their severely unimaginative billboards I heard practically nothing about them. That basically means one of two things; either I am a reclusive hermit or Global Cinemas didn’t pump enough money into advertising. For the sake of argument, let’s just say the latter is the reason for my lack of knowledge.

Unless there’s a law in Ghana that limits advertising for movie houses, I don’t see why Global Cinemas is flicking around glass marbles when a powerhouse like Silverbird is dropping metal balls.

“Global Cinemas, never underestimate the power of advertising…in whatever shape or form.”

Let’s leave it at that. Hopefully, they will come for my services. I work for an advertising agency y’know! *Subtle Suggestion* **wink**

Anywho, Global Cinemas has now taken root in Functions (Weija), the same building that once housed Silverbird. They (Silverbird) left Functions because of West Hills and almost a year down the line, I’m glad they did.

With Global Cinemas now in charge of the outfit, the interior and exterior have seen some slight changes. On the exterior, there’s now a “Global Cinemas” nameplate and a new entrance. Nothing too shabby.
Step inside though and you will soon realize Global Cinemas wants to cozy you up.
To put it subtly, there’s a lounge in the lobby now, and whiles that might not seem like a big deal, you should know the previous occupants offered no sitting area (save for the videogame area) for waiting customers.

This invariably drove out the very patient customers into the clutches of neighboring fast-food restaurants…and these restaurants will gladly let you sit and wait only after you’ve placed an order.

“Hmmm! In hindsight, I guess it was a fruitful “partnership”.

Talking about fast-food restaurants around Global Cinemas…well, let’s just say they are not in short supply; from Starbites to Wichburger, there’s a place for almost everyone.

So all things considered, I think the lounge is a welcome addition even though I doubt I’ll ever need it, since I am an on-the-dot kinda guy.

The service isn’t bad either although I fear employee-complacency might ruin that part of the experience. This happens way too often in Ghana.

“A new place opens and all the attendants can’t stop smiling at you or fussing all over you…like a bunch of guys fawning over a fresh girl in a new school.
A few months down the road though and no one cares about you or what you want; they will serve you when they serve you…so chill out!”

I am not calling doom on Global Cinemas but no surprises here when that happens.
We are in Ghana after all.

INTO THE CINEMA
The structure of the cinema itself hasn’t changed and I don’t know if that is good or bad, so mum’s the word.

One area has changed though, and that is the sound.

It might be new speakers, different equalizer presets or a mere volume increase. All I’ll say is ‘Global Cinemas, thank you for whatever you did’.

When Silverbird once occupied the place, I’d always complain about the sound…heck! I still do (West Hills and Accra Mall).
It was too tame, too subtle and way too flat. It almost felt as though they didn’t want us to enjoy the movie. Their sounds never reached cinema-level awesomeness.
Global Cinemas on the other hand is trying to blow out and destroy your eardrums…and I love it. That is how it is supposed to be.

Bad movie or not, I want to exit a cinema knowing I got my monies worth and that is what Global Cinemas accomplishes with the sounds.

With that said, the overall cinematic experience of Global Cinemas is but a few fist pumps away from perfection and since perfection is an elusive unicorn, we better let it go and jump into the negatives plaguing Global Cinemas.

“Time for the negatives! I love me some negatives.”

 

As good as Global Cinemas is at the moment, they have some issues desperately begging for attention and the biggest offender is their lackluster movie lineup.

There’s only so much good pricing and exceptional sound can do, and the sad thing is, Global Cinemas isn’t doing much to impress us (as far as movies are concerned).
Yeah you will find a blockbuster movie in there once in a while…but take out that movie and the lineup gets severely anemic.

“I speak for a lot of people when I say we need more blockbuster movies.”

If it’s a battle of movie rights, beat Silverbird; it’s that simple.

Variety is the spice of life but in this case, variety gives Global Cinemas more customers and more money.

Next on my list of negatives is the uneven shades in the projection screen (in the 3D screening room). It is a minor niggle at best but it’s something that can’t be unseen…and once you are aware, it detracts from the entire experience.
More so for a 3D movie where the entire movie experience is predicated on the viewer thinking they are a part of it. The illusion is thus broken when the viewer is always conscious of the uneven nature of the screen. It is very jarring. It needs to be fixed pronto.

All these issues are easily fixable (by my reasoning), so if after a week or two I find them still present, disappointment will sink in.

So that’s that for Global Cinemas; Great place, great ambiance, great pricing…just beef up your movie lineup, fix your uneven projection screen and presto, all will be well.

Now, let’s do my review of The Martian…but you know what, go watch it and we will discuss it. Hehe :).

Let me know when you are done.

PS: The Global Cinemas’ website and mobile app feel broken. Empty pages, really old movie posters and broken links are the ones I care about…and yeah, a portion of the website leads to Silverbird’s promotions page (click on any of the three squares).
Jeez Global Cinemas, you can do better.

5 thoughts on “‘The Martian’ in Global Cinemas.

  1. Great review. Our movie scene in Ghana needs big time investments, no doubt. Could it be that both Silverbird and Global are owned by the same group? You never know with these corporations.

Leave a Reply and be Awesome

