Love…Eating Away at Me.

Love tears away at my heart and it leaves it bloody and raw
It knocks at my door but there’s a shotgun waiting behind that rickety door.
Too often has it opened but never has it stayed shut.

Happiness never stays
Happiness doesn’t appreciate my presence
It doesn’t want to see my face anymore…and it shows;
from one bonfire to the next,
my bums know no peace.

Am I ‘destined’ not to find rest in the warmth of an embrace?

My heart bleeds nothing anymore.
What more to shed when the ground has drunk 7 times its fill of my happiness?
What more to give when there’s only one bullet left in this rusty shotgun?
For the intruder or for my heart?

A fated adventure burning on the ground
Our plans barely made…
but here it is smoldering into the untethered future.

There are no phoenixes here…only isles of flightless birds.

If Only.
If Only…then my heart would rest easy,
knowing time would peel the soot away.

Daydreaming never got me anywhere and neither has love;
Only heartache and a macabre sense of humor.

Love sucks after all.

Maybe love hates me
or
Maybe nothing lasts around me.

Bottom Line: Love truly does suck.

But here I sit feeling a Love I have never opened my heart to.
Love that is unconditional…
Unflinching…
Never failing!

Love from above…
Living within me…
Changing my life!

My God has led me into my hiatus.

I will come back…for HE has started working on my charred Heart.

Glory be to God!

AMEN!!

19 thoughts on “Love…Eating Away at Me.

  1. I often feel this way exactly – not necessarily about love (God has blessed me with a wonderful & gracious wife) but about the existential crises of life itself. Faith in God is the only remedy i have found after existing over half a century on this sin-cursed planet. Great poem.

Leave a Reply and be Awesome

